Edo-Tokyo Open-air Architectural Museum
The Edo-Tokyo Open-air Architectural Museum was founded as an annex of the Edo-Tokyo Museum in 1993 and now displays 29 buildings (30 buildings in 2013). Each building was relocated here using original materials from its original place in Edo or later in Tokyo. In the Edo period (1600-1867), Tokyo was called Edo. The buildings are preserved as they were, giving visitors a clearer image of historical changes in terms of people’s lifestyle.
Visitors can basically enter any building such as the Farmer’s House with its thatched roof and open hearth. The private house of Takahashi Korekiyo, a famous Japanese politician, is located here and is the place where he was killed during an attempted coup d’état in Japan in 1936 (The February 26 Incident). You can also see the bath house Academy Award film director, Miyazaki Hayao, referred to in his animation film “Spirited Away”. The Open-air Architectural Museum requires at least 1 ½ hours to enjoy. It is closed on Mondays.
[ History Back ]